I love you Dad.  I love you so much and I care about you.

But your actions… why?  You aren’t the person I grew up knowing.  You aren’t the person who spent Daddy-Veronica time with me.  You aren’t the person who taught me English and Math and how to find a great husband.  You aren’t the person who taught me the Hail Mary.

How dare you ever say I hate you.  I love you.  You are my DAD.  How could I hate you?  You gave me life – along with your former wife, my mom.

How dare you date a little 22 year old.  Everything she represents I hate.  Everything that you warped-ly find comfort in with her I hate.  Your stupid little corvette, I hate.  Your new $400,000 house I hate.  Your distance I hate.  But you, God forbid!  Never.  I love you more than anything.

And it hurt me more than anything when you said I hated you because I wouldn’t reply to your texts or want to see your apartment or spend time with your 22 year old girl friend.  How dare you say I hate you.

“…It’s alright, just wait and see,
Your string of lights is still bright to me, oh,
Who you are is not who you’ve been.
You’re still an innocent.
You’re okay, life is a tough crowd.
Thirty-two and still growing up now.
Who you are is not what you did.
You’re still an innocent.”

“Time turns flames to embers.
You’ll have new Septembers.
Everyone of us has messed up too.
Minds change like the weather,
I hope you remember –
Today is never too late to be brand new.

“…”

“Lost your balance on a tightrope.
It’s never too late to get it back.
Innocent by Taylor Swift (from the album Speak Now)

Leave a Reply

